‘Electricity on Wax’ by Rainbows Are Free

October 28, 2019

‘Electricity on Wax’ by Rainbows Are Free

Rainbows Are Free premiere brand new song ‘Electricity on Wax’! New album, Head Pains, coming November 29th on Argonauta Records!

Oklahoma heavy psych doom prog-rockers Rainbows Are Free are about to release their third and hotly anticipated album, Head Pains, on November 29th 2019 with Argonauta Records. Today the band is thrilled to debut the brand new track, ‘Electricity on Wax’, exclusively with It’s Psychedelic Magazine!

“‘Electricity on Wax’ is one of those rare moments where we decided to jettison the well-worn mantle of doom and gloom, and usher in a fresh breath of uptempo positivity — a reprieve from the norm during these dark times.”

Rainbows Are Free at Spiderhouse 2019 (SXSW). Photo by Dylan Johnson

Head Pains was recorded at the legendary Bell Labs studios, engineered and mixed by Trent Bell of Chainsaw Kittens fame, in Norman, OK.

Rainbows Are Free’s sonic locus appears on the rock n’ roll family tree at the point where proto-metal and heavy psychedelia shared a common apocryphal ancestor before branching off into their own distinct lineages. RAF formed in late 2007 as the conglomerate of several long-time heavy rock bands from Norman, OK. In February 2008, RAF self-released their eponymous demo EP, followed by the critically acclaimed full length album Believers In Medicine two years later with Guestroom Records Records. The band’s sophomore album, Waves Ahead of the Ocean, saw RAF taking on a new level with shows all over the States with acts such as High on Fire, Dead Meadow, St. Vitus, The Sword, Big Business, Pallbearer, Kylesa and many more. Often appearing in costumed stage dress, the band fronted by the soaring and snarling nigh 7-foot cyclone of weirdness that is Brandon Kistler, continues to shock and amaze fans by introducing an element of good-humored theatrics to accompany their live sonic assault. This is achieved in no small part due to the guitar prowess and songwriting of Richie Tarver, joined by the ambient soundscapes of Joey Powell on rhythm guitar, the thunderous low end of Jason Smith on bass, and Bobby Onspaugh on drums. Rainbows Are Free continue to bring their unique brand of psychedelic heaviness on tour as they support the release of Head Pains, due out on November 29th 2019 on Argonauta Records.

Check out all upcoming live dates of the band HERE!

RAF is:
Brandon Kistler -Vocals
Richie Tarver – Lead Guitar
Jason Smith – Bass
Joey Powell – Rhythm Guitar
Bobby Onspaugh – Drums

Rainbows Are Free Official Website
Rainbows Are Free on Bandcamp
Rainbows Are Free on Facebook
Rainbows Are Free on Instagram
Argonauta Records Official Website
Argonauta Records on Instagram
Argonauta Records on Facebook
Argonauta Records on Twitter
Argonauta Records on Bandcamp

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *