‘Necessary/Painful’ by Icarus Phoenix | New EP, ‘Son’

Uncategorized March 27, 2024

‘Necessary/Painful’ by Icarus Phoenix | New EP, ‘Son’

Exclusive video premiere of ‘Necessary/Painful’ by Icarus Phoenix, taken from the latest EP, ‘Son’.

In November 2022, Drew Danburry gathered in the studio to record 40 songs over three days with producer Jed Jones, known for his work with artists like Post Malone and The Killers, while enlisting longtime friend Jake Bellows of Neva Dinova for additional guitar.

Accompanied by Andrew Young on drums, Justin Pacheco on bass, and other friends at June Audio in Provo, Utah, the songs, penned by Danburry between 2021 and 2022 following his divorce and relocation due to a housing crisis, reflect his journey and philosophical insights, particularly in ‘Necessary/Painful,’ which delves into living a Stoic life.

Icarus Phoenix comprises Drew Danburry on guitar and vocals, Eli Sims on drums, Leena Rhodes on guitar, vocals, and synth, and Brendan Russell on bass. Originating in Missoula, Montana in 2020, the band has undergone five lineup changes, one of which performed at Treefort Music Fest in Boise, ID in 2021, and is currently based in Baltimore, formed through Drew’s connections at Old Bank Barbers. With a dedicated fanbase built from three studio albums and eight singles, 2024 holds great promise for the band as they plan to release six or more singles, one EP, and an LP this year, alongside an upcoming Japan/America tour and tentative plans for a UK tour in the Fall. Drew Danburry, who has independently toured and released records since 2002, boasts an impressive resume with over 400 songs across 20 albums and 13 EPs, performing over 800 shows worldwide, including two Daytrotter sessions, three appearances at Pop Montreal, and one at Pygmalion Music Festival, largely achieved through a DIY approach.

Icarus Phoenix Website / Instagram / Bandcamp / YouTube

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *