‘Vote For Miles’ by Cassini | New Album, ‘The Cassini Promise’

Uncategorized July 2, 2024

‘Vote For Miles’ by Cassini | New Album, ‘The Cassini Promise’

Exclusive video premiere of ‘Vote For Miles’ by Cassini, taken from the upcoming album, ‘The Cassini Promise,’ out August 2, 2024 via Echodelic Records.

Cassini led by Steve Palmer and Matt Beachey (aka Oscar Tengo), are key figures in the post-Fahey folkgaze scene, celebrated for their solo works and as Slow Clarity. Formed in 2019 to reinterpret Palmer’s underground classics ‘The Unblinking Sun’ and ‘Useful Histories,’ they evolved into a band known for pushing Palmer’s songs into sprawling, kinetic jams.

In Cassini, Palmer and Beachey unleash electric guitar wizardry, blending delicate melodies with raw noise, feeding off each other’s energy. Jazz-trained drummer Andrew Haaheim seamlessly shifts from free improvisation to precise math-rock, while bassist Matt Helgeson, ex-Maps of Norway, navigates the chaos with propulsive lines. Keyboardist Miles McClain, the band’s glue, mixes soulful Hammond swells with exploratory analog synths.

Their album is a dark, psychedelic journey from the transcendence of ‘Useful Histories’ to the krautrock punch of ‘Statesboro Day.’ Avoiding mere nostalgia, tracks like ‘Vote for Miles’ and ‘Crimson Flojax’ morph analog jams into heady industrial soundscapes.

The explosive Cassini track rockets through classic rock barriers into cosmic territory, evoking the intensity of Comets on Fire.

Cassini Bandcamp
Echodelic Records Official Website / Facebook / Instagram / Bandcamp

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *